Author Topic: Website Issues: Sunday 21st  (Read 559 times)

Offline Paul

  • Featured Contributor
  • Hero of Waygookistan
  • ***
  • Posts: 1140
  • Gender: Male
Website Issues: Sunday 21st
« on: November 23, 2010, 12:00:29 pm »
Uhh guys,

I tried to access waygook.org on the evening of Sunday 21st November. Instead of waygook.org, the site was seemingly compromised, as I was redirected to a gibberish page (intermixed with Chinese) attempting to download and execute some malware javascript from another, seemingly Chinese website (attack was intercepted, thanks Avast!). Having not seen any threads about this here, can you please check your logs for any oddities and try and confirm or deny this? Its kinda worrysome hey.

Given nobody else has posted, I'm entertaining the possibility of something else happening (server hiccup so pageload times out, browser thus redirects the URL through Google, Google quirk redirects to an unusual page... etc).
More primary school colours and shapes activity ideas and resources than you'd ever need - here
Holy free educational fonts Batman!

Offline Dyl

  • Fanatical Supporter!
  • Super Waygook
  • ***
  • Posts: 419
Re: Website Issues: Sunday 21st
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2010, 12:11:28 pm »
Hi Paul,

I've passed your post on to WebAdmin. In future please contact him directly.

Thanks.
Store lessons etc online (2GB free): http://db.tt/fKpm3q7x

Offline Arsalan

  • Web Programmer
  • Waygook Genius
  • *****
  • Posts: 730
  • Gender: Male
Re: Website Issues: Sunday 21st
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2010, 02:52:33 pm »
Are you sure you weren't attempting to visit waygook.com rather than waygook.org?

I haven't noticed any issues myself, I've just looked at the server logs as well.

Lastly, you may have actually entered waygook.org in the address bar, but if your computer is infected with malware, it could simply be that the malware attempted to redirect you randomly, and get you to download a trojan.  Some notorious malware don't get detected by antivirus software, but open ports on your computer for more malicious virii.  I would suggest you run a scan with MalwareByte's AntiMalware.  It's free.
« Last Edit: November 24, 2010, 12:30:19 am by WebAdmin »
Carpe PM... ZzzzzZzzz ZzzzZzzz.