April 22, 2018, 07:13:30 AM

Author Topic: Newbie in Namhae  (Read 1622 times)

Offline Cereal

• Hero of Waygookistan
  • Awwww man!
Newbie in Namhae
« on: March 16, 2011, 01:25:06 PM »
Hello All,

I'm new to Korea and work at a middle and elementary school in Sangju about 30 minutes from Namhae by bus. I previously taught in Laos for several years but to much more advanced speakers at an international school, a business college and language academies. These kids are beginner and absolute beginner level. I am finding it tough!

They are all nice folks in these parts and I like the scenery. Namhae is small, about 55,000 people but seems to have most of what I need although it doesn't have what I want, like an English bookstore for example!

Anyway, it's fun but seriously cold here! And, I miss sticky rice and noodle soup!
"The urge to destroy is also a creative urge."
Bakunin

Offline chocolateme

• Waygookin
  • You are what you eat.
Re: Newbie in Namhae
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2012, 06:34:42 PM »
I want to visit Namhae and Sangju beach or some clean beach to walk/run the shore. Too cold to get in water for me. Send me any area suggestion you may have. I will travel alone and get lost easily so any advice is helpful.

Offline crantor

• Adventurer
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2012, 08:50:33 PM »
I loved Namhae when I went for a visit, it was awesome.
I am often amazed at how much more capability and enthusiasm for science there is among elementary school youngsters than among college students.

- Carl Sagan

Offline coolcolm

• Waygookin
« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2013, 10:20:12 PM »
Hi Are you still on Namhae? I'm moving there next week (also new to Korea)

Magic Ears ESL