August 30, 2014, 05:10:26 PM

Author Topic: Beauty and the Beast lesson plan. Takes 3-5 class periods.  (Read 4912 times)

Offline GLondonful

• Veteran
Beauty and the Beast lesson plan. Takes 3-5 class periods.
« on: June 11, 2011, 09:36:42 PM »
Hi everyone, this is my first time sharing a lesson plan on this website.  I hope you find it helpful.

Overview

This is a 3- or 5-week lesson plan based on the Disney version of "Beauty and the Beast."  I showed my students the "special edition" version (the graphics are way better), skipping the song "Human Again" (for time reasons, and also because that song was added later and really doesn't fit with the rest of the movie, imo).  If you take out that song, the movie is about 80 min long.

I showed the movie in English with Korean subtitles.  You can download the movie for about 400W at wedisk.co.kr.

Beauty and the Beast is an awesome classic that features messages like "Beauty is found within" and "Think outside of provincial life; dream big."  A surprising number of Koreans have not seen this movie; I'd say about 90% of my 500 students had never seen it.  ALL of my classes LOVED this movie (some stayed 5-10 min after the bell to finish watching it), and all four of my co-teachers loved this lesson plan, because for the first two weeks, it means lots of free time for the teachers.  ^^  (Note: you may need to get permission from the powers above before showing a full-length movie during your classes, because sometimes they won't allow it.)

There are two lesson plans, one for upper levels and one for lower levels.

Lesson Plan for Upper Level Students: