October 31, 2014, 10:17:11 PM

Author Topic: Korean Funeral Customs  (Read 6518 times)

Offline schuettl

• Adventurer
Korean Funeral Customs
« on: April 20, 2012, 01:56:29 PM »
I need to attend a funeral for a beloved staff member at our school who recently and tragically died due to a fire at his home.  Though I have been to way more than my fair share of weddings, I have no experience at all with Korean funeral customs.  I don't know what's going to happen, when the proceedings are, who or how much I'm supposed to pay, what I'm supposed to wear, how long its going to last... anything!  Any help would be much appreciated, and if it helps shed any light in customs, we all live in a very rural farming area.  Thanks bunches.

Offline K

• Super Waygook
Re: Korean Funeral Customs
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2012, 02:44:38 PM »
First off, I'm sorry to hear about that.

Also, there is another thread about this somewhere because I had to ask some of the same questions before.

Here's what I experienced.
The atmosphere is less somber than what I expected, especially compared to what I've experienced back home. People were conversing and eating/drinking together in a separate room. I should add that they weren't being overly loud. 
The family wore black garments, while the guests were wearing black or dark colours (usually suits/ skirt/ dress - not casual).
You pay depending on how well you knew the individual and their family. In your case, 50 000 sounds appropriate. If you didn't know them well, but were friends of the family, you could give 30 000. Remember, give a number of bills that equals an odd number.